Give Yourself Something New

Every spring we get a new beginning. Bulbs bloom, trees blossom, cardinals sing and the grass in New England turns green. They are all signs of new beginnings. And yet we so often just keep on doing the same old thing. We work, we play, and we go about our daily business, hardly remembering what we did the day before.

When was the last time you gave yourself something new? Giving to yourself does not necessarily mean giving a particular “thing.” It can be giving yourself permission to do something new or go someplace new. What would you really like to do? Where would you really like to go? Do not just say ‘Oh well, I can not do this or that or go to this or that place’… because with permission I am sure you can.

Yesterday, I met a woman who has never been to Italy and said she wants to go sometime. She is in her fifties so what is she waiting for? If the air fare is too high this year, well next year it will be higher. I am sure with a little bit of permission and savings she can go on her dream holiday. She needs to begin to give to herself.

When I give myself something new, I do not believe it is being selfish. If my giving makes me happy then I will make others happy. Giving myself that birthday party weekend, not only made my whole family happy, but I still feel the glow and am sharing it with everyone I greet. I am sure the happy glow will last a very long time.

What would you like to give yourself? An adventure, a quiet place, a new beginning…

Personally, I spend very little money on things, movies, restaurants and general entertainment. But I do spend money on travel, whether to family and friends or a personal sojourn to a foreign place. I give myself permission to leave the Commonwealth almost every month.

How may I help you give yourself something new?

About alwaysharriet

With thirty years experience in corporate and leisure travel consulting, Harriet Ahouse has traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean and worldwide. An avid scuba diver, she understands the requirements of travelers both on land and in the water. On the European scene she has offered traditional and personalized travel itineraries throughout the continent--Italy, France, and England are some of her favorites. As a Virtuoso Agent, she also has extensive resources to enhance her expertise in designing individual destination travel itineraries--and honeymoons--worldwide!
This entry was posted in Things to Ponder and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment