As Time Goes By…

It seems unbelievable that I have been in the travel industry for 25 years now! I remember my first telephone call; it was a request for an airline ticket to Abidjan. My geography was good and I have always had an atlas at my desk. I knew Abidjan was in West Africa along the Ivory Coast but I did not know which country. My goodness, time goes by….

Even before that, I remember sitting on the bed at a Club Med in the days when you shared rooms with strangers, and my roommate Deddi said to me “why don’t you have a career?” She suggested being a travel agent. “You have not traveled; you have a talkative, friendly personality and like people.” Five weeks later, I was in travel school.

I remember when I used my new passport for the first time; I won a trip to Spain, Madrid and the coast for a week. I still have friends from that trip! And I still have on my desk a picture of “The Drinker” by Goya that is on the cover of a Ritz Madrid hotel cocktail menu!

“As time goes by…” is most famous for the line in Casablanca! If you have a moment find the editorial section of the Wednesday, 21st March issue of the Boston Globe. It is a great review of the movie we honor and love. The movie, like me, turned 70 on the 21st.

My goodness time does go by….

About alwaysharriet

With thirty years experience in corporate and leisure travel consulting, Harriet Ahouse has traveled extensively throughout the Caribbean and worldwide. An avid scuba diver, she understands the requirements of travelers both on land and in the water. On the European scene she has offered traditional and personalized travel itineraries throughout the continent--Italy, France, and England are some of her favorites. As a Virtuoso Agent, she also has extensive resources to enhance her expertise in designing individual destination travel itineraries--and honeymoons--worldwide!
This entry was posted in Things to Ponder and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment